MY GREENER PASTURE


Image result for cartoons of a green pasture

It was one hell of a dull day, both weather-wise and my mood-wise. My stomach was still troubling me with spasms of acute pain after massive upset two days earlier. I was feeling terribly weak with sweat pouring down. The whole thing pulled me down so badly that I was undergoing a mental depression much contrary to my usually effervescent disposition.

For days together, I had been getting a notice on my cell phone asking me to link my mobile number to my Aadhaar number by going to the nearest dealer. But that morning, I heard that the process had started. There was a rush of adrenalin and I rang up Channel 9 to see if they would do it for me. On their denial, I googled a ‘Bangalore One’ branch listed on Internet. There again there was denial, but a kind lady told me that the other branch at Jayanagar 2 block was doing it and she was patient enough to give me its location.

I took an ‘’auto’’ and hurried to the said Centre, only to find that they had a system of distributing 40 tokens between 8 and 8.10 in the morning and only those with the tokens would be entertained that day. I tried to plead my age, indisposition and weakness to secure one more token. But, they said they were helpless as the machine uploaded only 40 cases per day. The manager, a young, sprightly lady asked me to come next morning early enough to secure the token and that she would see to it that I would be attended to early.

Thoroughly defeated by the failure of the day’s project, I stopped an ‘’auto’’ and headed home. As soon as I sat in the vehicle, the driver started his saga. He told me that he had to undergo a surgery following an accident and that he had returned home only 4 days earlier. Though the surgeon had prescribed a month’s rest at home, necessity had driven him on to the job and that I was his first customer of the day. When I tried to compliment on his beautifully done up vehicle, he told me it was a hired one- hired out of a fleet of 13 such autos. In spite of the noise of the engine and the traffic, his story moved me. In fact, when I paid the fare with a small tip, I noticed that he supported his limp right hand with the left and received the amount.

Once I got home, I asked my maid servant casually if she had change for a 100 Re. note. Tears slowly filled her eyes as she narrated her tale ‘’Amma, today someone stole my purse containing Rs 2500 from the bag I had left outside when I went to work inside. I lost my monthly salary from two houses at one go. Someone who had watched where I leave my bag must have been waiting for my pay day to do good with the lot.”

After hearing the driver’s and the maid’s stories, I found my blues slowly vaporising. I found that I could ill-afford to wallow in self-pity when there was so much more misery around me.

Thanking the Lord for small mercies, my spirits slowly started rising.

ps- cartoon courtesy Shutterstock.

————-

Standard

10 thoughts on “MY GREENER PASTURE

  1. Linda says:

    Vimala –
    How vividly you describe your change in perspective! And without being pompous about it. You are a superb writer! And a fine human being.
    I have been thinking of you the last few days as I festooned all my saris in the living room – early this year for the church ladies luncheon.
    Linda

    • Thank you,Linda for your very kind words. Your preparation for Christmas and a picture of Ashvin’s holiday lights bring back sweet memories of the festival I had at your place. Merry Christmas to you and a Very Happy New Year to you all.

  2. Hi Vimala, read your article. Very nice. Even though we keep saying that we should be grateful for the blessings we have, the realisation dawns only when we are hit by situations like the ones you have described.-H.R.Seetharam

  3. Vimala, Thinking about all the blessings in my life- particularly Linda, Sarah, Ashvin and the grandkids- and seeing all the misery in the world, I realize I am among the most fortunate of men. Thank you for reminding me of that _ John.

Leave a comment