The Mother Of All Outings


The Mother of all Outings

Image may contain: 1 person, skyscraper, sky, outdoor and water

Water, like the Himalayan ranges, has always held a special fascination for me. Thus, whenever we had a stopover in Chennai, instead of heading for shopping like other ladies, I would always head for the beach. I could never get enough of the lapping waves with their gentle roar and the unique sensation of the grains of sand swirling through my toes. Fortunately, the rest of my family also had shared this unique obsession.

Thus, when I landed at my son’s place in Seattle, USA a couple of weeks back, my first question to them was, “Do you have access to the sea? Can we visit the beach?”. I was told that Seattle city was indeed a coastal one, but the sea was very far from where they stayed, that is, Woodinville. But, obviously the request must have lingered on in my son’s mind.

On Saturdays, the regular program was to attend my granddaughter Alena’s basketball games in the nearby clubs. But, once, it was to be on Mercer Island. Having gone halfway, my son asked me to be ready for a daylong expedition to Bainbridge island.

Alena and her mom Sarah headed home after the game while Ashvin and I set out in his car in the opposite direction. After crossing a long bridge on the Washington lake, we reached the ferry docks at Puget Sound. The ferry was just about to leave for Bainbridge. Ours was one of the last of the 150 or so cars parked on the ferry. The ferry had two floors for passengers of two classes including a big restaurant. The topmost floor was reserved for the crew and was out of bounds for general public.

The hull portion of the ferry had a looking out deck from where the travellers could get themselves photographed (or selfied) against the receding skyline of Seattle downtown.

As the ferry left the docks, the engines created a regular humming. Puget Sound being an arm of the Pacific Ocean, the waters were calm, deep and dark blue. As the journey progressed, the ripples of water glistened silvery in the golden sunshine, it being an unusually fine day. On the way, we passed the ferry that was coming in the opposite direction.

After about half an hour of leisurely cruising, we reached the Bainbridge island. People waited patiently to drive out their cars. When we came out of the ferry, we drove to a scenic point on the Bainbridge island. Here, the vast light blue expanse of the Pacific Ocean lay before us. The beach had no sand but all rounded pebbles which looked as if they had been made to order. The water here was cool, calm and clear. Only a few families were around.Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, ocean, sky, outdoor, water and nature

I chose a big log of driftwood to sit upon, soaking my feet in the gently rippling water, with pebbles clearly visible on the floor through the pure, pristine and transparent water. After spending a satisfactorily (!) long time, we headed back to the ferry, after lunching at a quaint, strictly vegetarian joint run by an Asian woman.

This time on the return journey, we chose a spot away from the crowd. Standing next to a railing at the car park we enjoyed watching the sea without any disturbance.

Standard

25 thoughts on “The Mother Of All Outings

  1. Nirmala says:

    Enjoyed reading.Your son pandered to your wish now as you had done to his wants.Very good of him to take you on this trip andglad you enjoyed it.

  2. Sneha says:

    How Transatlantic have been my concerns too! I’m glad to see you happy, Vimala — an almost fiction narrative in your description!

  3. Ram Sundar says:

    I had no idea you liked the sea so much. We live amongst some of the most beautiful beaches. Wish I could have taken you when you were at our place. I realize you wanted to spend the time you did with Amma.

    • Yes Sundar, I am crazy about the sea. If manni were healthier, I could have had a good experience with Atlantic Ocean too! I still remember the boat trip you took me to Ellis island last time l visited you.

  4. Aditi Arun says:

    Amazing detail Pati, it’s almost like I was there 😉
    I see your walking stick enjoyed the water too 🙂
    Happy for you!

  5. S says:

    I tried commenting once — in vain!
    Good tidings to you, vimala and this sure could translate as non fiction writing if you look at exploring it seriously as a genre.

  6. I hope you remember tho’ I wouldn’t be surprised if you don’t! My daughter is in Seattle too and I have visited Puget Sound This post reminded me of those occasions. Quite a picturesque description that I enjoyed reading.

Leave a comment